Our office opens regular office hours during COVID-19 Emergency.

Drug-Impaired Driving in San Marcos: Five Things to Know

When drug-impaired drivers cause injuries in traffic collisions in San Marcos, it is essential to hold those drivers accountable and seek compensation. What do you need to know about drugged driving crashes in Southern California? The following are five important things to consider.

  1. Drug-Impaired Driving is Unlawful and a Motorist Can be Liable for Injuries

It is important to know that impaired driving does not just include alcohol-impaired driving. Drug-impaired driving is dangerous and unlawful in California, even if using the drug is otherwise legal if you are not behind the wheel of an automobile. 

  1. New Study Says States with Legalized Recreational Marijuana Have Higher Traffic Injury and Death Rates

Recreational marijuana is legal in California, and it has been for quite some time. However, just because recreational marijuana is legal for adults does not mean that it is lawful to drive after using marijuana. The California Office of Traffic Safety underscores that marijuana slows a driver’s reaction time, makes it more difficult to make decisions, and makes driving significantly riskier. Indeed, even in small amounts, marijuana use can impact a driver’s ability to stay safe behind the wheel. A recent study conducted by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) and reported by U.S. News and World Report suggested that serious and deadly car accident rates are higher in states like California where recreational marijuana has been legalized.

  1. You Should Gather Evidence at the Scene of the Accident

Just like any other car accident, you should gather as much evidence as you can at the scene of a drug-impaired collision. Take photographs of the scene (including property damage and physical injuries), seek witness contact information, and obtain contact and insurance information from the at-fault motorist.

  1. Most Drug-Impaired Driving Claims Have a Two-Year Statute of Limitations

Under California law, most personal injury cases have a two-year statute of limitations. Your drug-impaired driving claim will most likely need to be filed within two years from the accident, but you should discuss your case with a lawyer as soon as possible to be certain that you file your claim on time.

  1. Drivers Can be Responsible for Injuries Even if They Were Impaired Due to Prescription Medication

Drug-impaired driving includes more than illegal drugs and recreational marijuana. When a motorist’s use of a prescription medication causes an accident, that motorist can be liable for any injuries that result from the accident they caused. Indeed, certain medications can lead a driver to be impaired, and deciding to use such medication before driving is usually negligent. According to the California Office of Traffic Safety, “over the last 10-15 years, more Americans have begun taking more prescription and over-the-counter medications that can impair driving,” and sometimes the effects of these drugs can last for up to 24 hours after initially taking them.

Contact a San Marcos Car Accident Lawyer

If you need assistance filing a drug-impaired injury claim, you should seek advice from one of the experienced San Marcos auto accident lawyers at our firm. Contact the Walton Law Firm to learn more about your options for seeking compensation after a car crash.

 

See Related Blog Posts:

Distracted Driving Problems May Be Bigger Than You Think

Who Could Be Liable for a Car Accident in San Clemente?

Contact Information